Mobile Media Evaluation

The making a mobile app project was very interesting for me as I have not done such a thing before, especially using the app we used to make it (BlippAR). Because of this, I believe that the app I designed wasn’t the best at all, it seemed a little rough around the edge and it also seemed like it was lacking a little content, although the base idea was there and presented.

Overall, the idea of my mobile app was that you would show the ingredient to the phone’s camera, and the phone would detect what ingredient it is, and then present some recipes that include that ingredient to the user, you could then show even more ingredients to the phone’s camera and the phone would cross-reference the ingredients with eachother and bring up recipes with all the ingredients shown in so that the end result would be you could show the phone what you want to cook with and the phone would calculate a recipe with all the ingredients shown. However, the app we used only allowed us to use one marker image, this was a problem as we wanted it to be able to detect what ingredient it was, however we could only make it detect one singular image. If I was a god at programming I would design my own coding for it to be able to do this, but I am not however so I just have to put up with the app I have.

However one thing I am really proud of is the opening screen on the app, the logo comes up and you have to press the chef hat to continue and I am just genuinely happy with how that turned out because that was exactly how I envisioned it.

Leave a comment